Just four out of 31 district councillors attend every full council meeting in the last year

First published in

Only four district councillors attended every full council meeting in the last year.

Ten full Maldon District Council meetings were held between May 9, 2013 and April 3, 2014.

Deputy leader Miriam Lewis, Maldon East councillor Stephen Savage and Southminster councillors Adrian Fluker and Brian Beale, attended all ten.

Out of the other 27 councillors, six attended six or less meetings and 20 attended eight or more.

Mayland councillor David Horner attended four and Richard Dewick, who represents Tillingham, went to five.

The figures do not include committee meetings, as each councillor is involved in different committees.

Councillors receive a basic allowance of £4,545 per year, although not all claim it.

See this week's Maldon and Burnham Standard for the full story.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree